Katherine McNamara Speaks Up Against Bullying

[cncvp video_id=”8a250ab04128b56501417ec4c63e074a”]

Katherine McNamara is one of the stars of CONTEST, a new anti-bullying movie coming to Cartoon Network. Like many people, Katherine herself was bullied growing up, so she knows what it’s like to go through that. Check out the video here to see some of her advice about dealing with bullies. We also asked Katherine to write up a special blog post to all of you:


My name is Katherine McNamara, and I’m one of the actors in the new movie about bullying called CONTEST, airing on Cartoon Network on Sunday, October 6 at 6/5c. I am thrilled to be part of this movie because I was bullied growing up. I wish I could have seen this movie then, and I hope it will help other kids.

CONTEST is the story of 3 students: Matt is the school’s star athlete, but a bully; Tommy is a kid who loves to cook and is victimized by Matt; and I play Sarah, a student blogger. Matt and Tommy end up working together for a television cooking contest and start to become friends. My character doesn’t believe Matt has really changed. I try to warn Tommy, and… well, you’ll just have to watch to see how it turns out.

As kids, we have a front row seat to the bullying that goes on every day. Maybe you see someone around you being bullied, and you don’t know how to help; maybe you are the one who is being bullied; or maybe you are the bully who doesn’t understand how much you are hurting people. Whoever you are, YOU have the power speak up and stop the bullying. Want to know how? Go to stopbullyingspeakup.com and watch the World Television Premiere of CONTEST on Sunday, October 6 at 6/5c on Cartoon Network.

What do you think about CONTEST?

[cnce src=”http://www.cartoonnetwork.com/forums/communityjs/780?forum=52&key=PMjAtP&threadID=94171″%5D