Uncle Grandpa Q&A with Pete Browngardt


Every wonder who created Uncle Grandpa? How he came up with the idea? What his favorite episode is? So did we! That’s why we tracked down Pete Browngardt, creator and voice of Uncle Grandpa. Luckily for us, he was nice enough to give us some answers! Check out the full Q&A session below.

P.S. Remember to tune in to Uncle Grandpa Day this Thursday on Cartoon Network! It’s an all-day marathon of every episode of Uncle Grandpa, starting at 9a/8c and finishing with an all-new half-hour Uncle Grandpa special at 7:30/6:30c. Don’t miss it!

How did you come up with the Uncle Grandpa character in the first place and how do you describe him?
I wanted to create a character that was magical and could go and do anything. I had some really fun uncles growing up that would visit from time to time and I thought what if they were magical. Uncle Grandpa is a magical, fun loving, positive guy that loves to help people and have a great time doing it.

Were you always planning to voice him and, if it hadn’t been you, who would you have imagined him to be voiced by?
I didn’t plan on it but it seemed to work the best for the character, so I got over my shyness and did it.

What’s your favourite episode/episodes to date?
I’m fond of all the episodes… But if I had to pick one I’d have to go with “Perfect Kid”.

What’s been the best thing to come out of Uncle Grandpa’s bag?
His Laser Hammer.

Why do you think kids can relate to the characters, even though Uncle Grandpa is an adult?
Probably because he’s silly and acts and thinks like a kid.

What’s the best feedback you’ve had from parents about the show?
That their kids watch the episodes over and over again.

What kind of cartoons/animations did you love when you were growing up?
I loved cartoons from the 1930’s, 1940’s… Like Tex Avery and Looney Tunes. Also, I loved MAD Magazine and underground comics from the 1960’s.

What was working on Adventure Time like?
I only worked very briefly on Adventure Time because I had to start developing my own show, but it was fun and crazy.

Would Uncle Grandpa ever swing by Australia/interact with any Australian animals?
It’s possible for sure and I bet he’d love the land down under! He’d probably get along with kangaroos because they both have pouches/Belly Bags.

Do you think kids around the world enjoy the same jokes and funny stories?
Oh yeah! Uncle Grandpa is a very visual show and that type of humor speaks to all languages.

Have you ever been to Asia? If so, what are your memories? If not, would you like to go there?
I’ve been to Korea and had a great time. The subways were really easy to navigate.

Do you have a particular message for kids in Philippines/Malaysia/Taiwan?
Good mornin’!!

What’s YOUR favorite episode of Uncle Grandpa?

[cnce src=”http://www.cartoonnetwork.com/forums/communityjs/780?forum=52&key=23cuhD&threadID=152761″%5D